Fruit Bowls

Sundays are my food prep days. I start out my day grocery shopping and then prepare meals and snacks for the upcoming week. For the past couple months my breakfast has consisted of a fruit bowl along with a LÄRABAR. LÄRABAR’s are my absolute favorite natural fruit and nut bars and I highly recommend them for a quick, healthy snack. You can find them in most grocery stores or on Amazon. Mark (my boyfriend) also gets a fruit bowl for breakfast and either a homemade or Publix bagel.

Making your own fruit bowls is a inexpensive way to start your day (premade fruit bowls are pricey). There are also many benefits to your body and well being you can read about here.

fruitbowl prep.jpg

I begin by washing all the fruit in a colander and setting out reusable containers (pyrex is my personal favorite). Lately I have been buying grapes, blueberries, and strawberries, but this varies on what is on sale/in season. I have bought watermelon, raspberries, apples, mandarin oranges, and bananas in the past. You can make this completely your own based on what you like and/or need in your diet.

fruit bowl2.jpg

This time I started with removing the grapes from their vines and placing them in the containers first, cut up the strawberries (less mess later on), and added the blueberries last (no smashed fruit). Once finished, I closed the containers and placed them in the fridge for the week. I would recommend if you notice any fruit starting to get soft to put those in your container for the first day of the week or you may have a moldy surprise later on and no breakfast!

Leave a Reply

