Keep Your Face Healthy with Natural Make Up

Did you know that 60% of what you put on your body is absorbed through your skin?

According to Safecosmetics.org “The EU law  bans 1,328 chemicals from cosmetics that are known or suspected to cause cancer, genetic mutation, reproductive harm or birth defects.  In comparison, the U.S. FDA has only banned or restricted 11 chemicals from cosmetics.”

This is a scary fact if you are like me and live in the United States. We have to try even harder to find naturally made products.

Since learning about the amount chemicals packed into make up, I have made a conscious decision to research the products I put on my body. I know it can be more expensive and time consuming to find and purchase these products, so I have taken the time to review the natural products I have tried in hopes of helping you to make a better choice first time around.

Now I have found anyone and everyone can put “Natural” and “Organic” on their labels, only when you go to read the ingredients list and find it is loaded with toxic chemicals!

So far I have found 2 companies (online) that sell natural plant based make up: Alima and Thrive Market.

alima

From Alima I have a lip tint, mascara, and eyelash curler that came free with my order!

alima light lip

Here is their Honey Lip tint which costs $14.00. I have to say I love this color! I would highly recommend this lip tint. It comes in 4 other colors I can not wait to try.  Shop here

a mascara close up

Here is a close up on the mascara brush. I like this mascara for how it separates each lash. This is a great mascara if you are going for a subtle, natural look. If you are looking for full voluminous lashes, I would not recommend you buy this mascara. This cost me $22 and came with a free lash curler (pictured above). Shop herethrive

Here I have items that I have found on Thrive Market. This site has EVERYTHING and at great prices! You can find anything from pet food to laundry detergent to reusable baby diapers and everything is natural.

plum eyeliner

Here I have a fig colored (purple) eyeliner. I really like this eyeliner, it is easy to use, soft, and has an eraser on the opposite end. I bought this for $12.95. Shop here.

The “Mineral Lip Tint & Shimmer – Garnet” has two ends (pictured above. The lip tint feels refreshing and moisturizing on, However, the color is very light on and does not give the deep garnet color I was hoping for. This cost me $3.95. Shop here

thrive mascara

This mascara is perfect for nights out or days you want to dress up a little more than usual. It is pitch black and has great volume. The packaging is smaller than your usual mascara (7g tube). It cost me 7.45. Shop here

Feel free to leave suggestions on topics, tips, or tools you would like to hear about and let me know  what your favorite products and sites are for healthy living!

Leave a Reply

